The Powerpuff Girls Return in April


Sugar! Spice! And everything nice! Cartoon Network today announced that the series reboot of The Powerpuff Girls will premiere on April 4 with back-to-back episodes starting at 6 p.m. ET. After that, it will air new episodes every weekday through April 15 in the same time slot, ultimately leading to its regular weekly time, Thursdays at 6 p.m. ET starting on April 21.

The Powerpuff Girls, created by Craig McCracken, originally premiered in 1996  and ran for 78 episodes. The show was critically acclaimed, earning two Emmy Awards along with five nominations and countless other animation honors. The series also spawned a feature film with Warner Bros. Pictures in 2002.

The only member of the original cast returning is Tom Kenny, who voices the Narrator/Mayor. The girls themselves will be voiced by Amanda Leighton (Blossom), Kristen Li (Bubbles), and Natalie Palamides (Buttercup). Many fans were upset that the original actresses, Cathy Cavadini (Blossom), Tara Strong (Bubbles), and E.G. Daily (Buttercup), would not be reprising the iconic roles. While it does make me sad, I am going into the reboot with an open mind and wish the new actresses all the best.

The following two tabs change content below.


Just a simple man, trying to find his way in the universe. Image hosted by

Leave a Reply